About us

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Kingston in Jamaica (Latin: Archidioecesis Regio-politanus in Iamaica) is an archdiocese of the Latin rite of the Roman Catholic Church in the Caribbean. The Archdiocese encompasses the larger portion of the island of Jamaica, and the capital of Kingston. The archdiocese is the metropolitan archdiocese for three suffragan dioceses: Belize City-Belmopan, Mandeville, and Montego Bay, as well as the Mission Sui Iuris of Cayman Islands. The archdiocese and its suffragan dioceses are members of the Antilles Episcopal Conference.

Originally erected as the Vicariate Apostolic of Jamaica in 1837, the Vicariate was elevated to the Diocese of Kingston encompassing all of Jamaica in 1956. After the Diocese of Montego Bay was split from the Diocese of Kingston, it was elevated to the Archdiocese of Kingston in Jamaica on 14 September 1967.

Follow by Email